Surah Ali-Imran: Chapter 3 (line 50-60) The Family of Iram

50. “And verifying what lies before me of the Torah, and to make lawful for you some of what was forbidden to you. I have come to you with a sign from your Lord; so fear God, and obey me.”

51. “God is my Lord and your Lord, so worship Him. That is a straight path.”

52. When Jesus sensed disbelief on their part, he said, “Who are my allies towards God?” The disciples said, “We are God’s allies; we have believed in God, and bear witness that we submit.”

53. “Our Lord, we have believed in what You have revealed, and we have followed the Messenger, so count us among the witnesses.”

54. They planned, and God planned; but God is the Best of planners.

55. God said, “O Jesus, I am terminating your life, and raising you to Me, and clearing you of those who disbelieve. And I will make those who follow you superior to those who disbelieve, until the Day of Resurrection. Then to Me is your return; then I will judge between you regarding what you were disputing.

56. As for those who disbelieve, I will punish them with a severe punishment, in this world and the next, and they will have no helpers.

57. And as for those who believe and do good works, He will give them their rewards in full. God does not love the unjust.”

58. This is what We recite to you of the Verses and the Wise Reminder.

59. The likeness of Jesus in God’s sight is that of Adam: He created him from dust, then said to him, “Be,” and he was.

60. The truth is from your Lord, so do not be of those who doubt.

My Interpretation: 

Muhammad is being told about Jesus and what happened while he was here on earth. Jesus was given the Holy Spirit to do miracles and he was sent as a trail among men. Jesus taught his followers to worship one God. God knew that the Roman leaders and Pharisees were coming together in order to kill the man they viewed as disruptive to their lifestyle of wealth and power, so God planned to raise Jesus to Him before they could take his life.

Now this is where the difference between Christianity happens with Muslims. Some Muslim scholars think that Jesus did live a life, escaping from his death, but there is no evidence further in the Quran of this. All we know in this particular verse is that God raised Jesus to Himself, which means Jesus left this earth physically, but his soul remained untainted by death. I see this as a way of saying that when God decided Jesus was to be saved from the torment of these corrupt men, Jesus died a painless and peaceful death in response to being such a devout servant all his life.

There is such a vagueness in these verses about Jesus and as it says, the clue is in there as to why. It is for God to see how would each person interpret Jesus’s life and death. It is a test, that the Grand teacher is giving each of us. Will we believe Jesus in worship of ONE God? Will we follow Jesus’s teachings? What will we do with his death? These are all questions God asks you each.

The way I choose to see Jesus’s life is as an example to us, to show our highest potential as a human being. Adam was created, just as Jesus was. Only God can understand ultimately the why or how, and in the End Times Jesus will be used as a measure for each of our souls.

I choose to see unity between all religions in regards to this man in his teachings. If Christians want to say one thing, and Jews another..it ultimately does not bother me. They are still my family under God and knowing the Quran, I see this regardless of the difference of opinions whether Jesus was a servant or God himself. I still function daily in life as a muslim, and this means I am to be kind, thoughtful, and unity driven towards my fellow beings.

As a muslim, I follow Jesus’s Way as John has said in the Bible. His Way of LIFE, that is. I will help those who need it, see beyond differences, and worship the one God who created us, knowing that one day I will be returned to Him with Jesus and all the other creations.

Ancient Persian muslim art of Jesus and Mary, showing the Holy Spirit inside radiating out of the Crown Chakra

Jesus

 

