Surah Al-A’raf : Chapter 7 (line 200-206) the Elevations

200. And when a suggestion from Satan assails you, take refuge with God. He is Hearing and Knowing.

201. Those who are righteous-when an impulse from Satan strikes them, they remind themselves, and immediately see clearly.

202. But their brethren lead them relentlessly into error, and they never stop short.

203. If you do not produce a miracle for them, they say, “Why don’t you improvise one.” Say, “I only follow what is inspired to me from my Lord.” These are insights from your Lord, and guidance, and mercy, for a people who believe.

204. When the Quran is recited, listen to it, and pay attention, so that you may experience mercy.

205. And remember your Lord within yourself, humbly and fearfully, and quietly, in the morning and the evening, and do not be of the neglectful.

206. Those who are in the presence of your Lord are not too proud to worship Him. They recite His praises, and to Him they bow down.

My interpretation:

Muhammad is coached to tell the people to be aware of temptation to follow the wrong things in life that happened in the past, and to always be aware of these revelations. They will ask Muhammad to produce a physical miracle from his own hands, but Muhammad must tell them that he is limited to what God guides him to do and will not overstep those boundaries given to him. The Quran revelations are enough of a miracle to those who understand it.

A messenger’s job is not to show off, it is only to give the message given to him by a higher power. It’s also a test of faith of the people to see who can SEE the truth within the revelations without being shown God visually, by a miracle.

Muhammad is to tell the people to listen to the Quran and pay attention to its words. They are also reminded to pray and be mindful of their spirituality and remain constant in faith. The ones who are too proud will have a hard time bowing down to God, but this is how God tests our level of humility. Those who bow or kneel in prayer are showing a strength in them that God can appreciate in His creations.

Personally my journey towards God began with learning the lesson of humility. Today, I do not feel I have anything to lose in bowing before our Lord. It helps me detach from my ego and see everything as temporary and connected. I feel good when I bow in gratitude and can let go of all that I hold onto so tightly. Now, I give all my worries, stress, and fears to God and give thanks for everything I have been blessed with. I have never been more happier finding this path.

 

Buddhist monks bowing like Muslims-why do they still fight each other?

buddhistmonks

