Jesus in Islam was more than a man: He was an example.

29. So she pointed to him. They said, “How can we speak to an infant in the crib?”

30. He said, “I am the servant of God. He has given me the Scripture, and made me a prophet.

31. And has made me blessed wherever I may be; and has enjoined on me prayer and charity, so long as I live.

32. And kind to my mother, and He did not make me a disobedient rebel.

33. So Peace is upon me the day I was born, and the day I die, and the Day I get resurrected alive.”

34. That is Jesus son of Mary-the Word of truth about which they doubt.

 

In a world torn apart by violence it is important to revisit the ancient texts to see actually WHAT each religion teaches. No longer can we just go by the priests, imams, and rabbi’s words-we must search for our own truth.

Each person has a filter, and personal intention behind their teaching people. I guess, my personal intention is to get people to see the interconnection and stop fighting. This is not every religious leader’s unfortunately and hasn’t been in the past. There is nothing special about me. I sit here at home just wanting to prove with the use of studying life connections to the scriptures the evidence of God’s unity. So I decide to do that with my time to help inspire others. I am not sure what goes through the head of a pastor of a Sunday church in Georgia, or an imam in an Islamic Institution, but I can say I have PROOF that Christians and Muslims believe in the same Jesus, but just have been interpreting his life and death differently.

As you can see in the above verses, Jesus DID die. He was raised UP alive. Christians think the same thing. But they were taught to believe that this made him God. Muslims are taught to see that God made Jesus His servant, as part of the Godhead, and allowed him to live again in a place we all long for and will ALSO return to.

It’s extremely complicated, but when you start to see your fellow beings as part of the same family under God and guided by the same light and love of God, it is easy to start to see the connection.

Let’s face it Muslims: Some of you have been too “literal”, too “logical” with your interpretations of Jesus as a messenger or prophet. He was never “just” one like Muhammad or Noah was. He was CREATED specifically with a purpose to talk as a baby with wisdom-what other messenger did this? None.

Jesus was also designed as Adam was to “be” and so he “became”. Jesus was born from a virgin Mary, and was made uniquely unlike any other human being on earth. To be a muslim, you must admit that.

The fork in the road between Christianity and Islam happens during the tale of Jesus’s death. In the Quran, he was plotted against by the Romans and Pharisees, but saved by God. To many Christians, this is blasphemy cause it means then that Jesus did not die for our sins. However, as we can see in the above verses that Jesus absolutely did die and was resurrected alive. We are not sure about the timing, since the Quran suggests that his death happened a little after the Romans killed him when there was a substitution to look like him. It is a mystery how this worked. How could Jesus die, but then also be saved by God?

In one way we can see a parallel is in the resurrection of Jesus in Christianity and Islam. Jesus was raised alive. So in my interpretation and way I would like to teach both Christians and Muslims to see, is that the corrupted actions of the Romans killing Jesus did not taint his spirit or “kill” his soul. When a person dies unjustly they do not really die. Their body may be gone, but they are then brought to a new place. Perhaps a new dimension that can appreciate a soul like that.

Yes, Jesus did die because the sins of man. He died cause he kept teaching spiritual wisdom in a world ruled by blind leaders.

This is how I have come to see Jesus’s death: It was a great teaching about the meaning of Life. When you die in service of being a good person, a servant of God. You are never dead. Physically you may be, but you are resurrected into something new. I believe God was trying to show this to human beings. But somewhere the idea that ONLY Jesus could be raised like this cause he was God in the flesh, got too heavy handed. A less severe approach to include all others is to see that Jesus’s resurrection was not about his specialness-although he was very special. It’s about all of ours, and how the evils of the world can not taint a pure soul that devotes their life to God and to helping others SEE him.

If you are Christian, Muslim, Jew, Hindu, Buddhist, still looking, but not labeling yourself….and you are a good person who devotes themselves to putting more good in the world than bad energy-then you are saved from the black void of death, like Jesus was.

Jesus-Risen-cropped

 

