Why Do I Believe In God?

A man asked me today online, “what makes you so sure God exists?”

I took it as a moment to guide someone towards hope and faith, as it came quite sincerely and without insult, I answered him. I share with you guys too so you can share this with others if anyone asks you why you have faith or spiritual beliefs. I believe this was the best answer I have ever came up with, by showing the pattern throughout history.

Here is what I said:

Thanks for asking! I will tell you it is different for everyone, but for me it is because some of the most inspirational people in history believed in God. I connect to these people and what they say. They may not see God as the same, but they do not claim that God does not exist, only that God is far more incredible than we realize. Because of these people and their comments on God aligning to my thoughts, they confirm to me that God exists and carried them through some miraculous achievements.

I can see how it might be possible for a man to look down upon the earth and be an atheist, but I cannot conceive how he could look up into the heavens and say there is no God.”
~Abraham Lincoln

God has given you one face, and you make yourself another.
~William Shakespeare

God used beautiful mathematics in creating the world.
~Paul Dirac

The best remedy for those who are afraid, lonely or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere where they can be quiet, alone with the heavens, nature and God. Because only then does one feel that all is as it should be.
~Anne Frank

The moment I have realized God sitting in the temple of every human body, the moment I stand in reverence before every human being and see God in him – that moment I am free from bondage, everything that binds vanishes, and I am free.
~Swami Vivekananda

I believe in God, but not as one thing, not as an old man in the sky. I believe that what people call God is something in all of us. I believe that what Jesus and Mohammed and Buddha and all the rest said was right. It’s just that the translations have gone wrong.
~John Lennon

When the solution is simple, God is answering.
~Albert Einstein

I don’t stand for the black man’s side, I don’ t stand for the white man’s side. I stand for God’s side.
~Bob Marley

Coincidence is God’s way of remaining anonymous.
~Albert Einstein

I just want to do God’s will. And he’s allowed me to go to the mountain. And I’ve looked over, and I’ve seen the promised land! I may not get there with you, but I want you to know tonight that we as a people will get to the promised land.
~Martin Luther King, Jr.

While I know myself as a creation of God, I am also obligated to realize and remember that everyone else and everything else are also God’s creation.
~Maya Angelou

God, as Truth, has been for me a treasure beyond price. May He be so to every one of us.
~Mahatma Gandhi

Heaven means to be one with God.
~Confucius

Yeah. I agree with these awesome people.

 

 

 mankindservice
