How God Can Help You Worry Less

I have a huge confession to make. I am a worrywart. I am not sure if it is nurture or nature with this, but at times I can be worrisome, almost fearful about situations, when I am not aligned with God. I understand now why when I read the Quran do I feel an uplifting of my spirit. Because in many ways, the verses tell me to not worry so much and as they say, “let go and let God”.

To a person who is always concerned and a bit worried about things in life, this is the greatest gift I could receive from our  Creator. A few examples of this can be found in these verses towards the end of the Quran when it starts to talk about the end of the known physical universe when God calls all mankind and jinn together to show them each what they have done.

But the soothing of the soul happens through out the reading of the Quran, much like it would do for those who read the Bible. The Quran chastises those who do something wrong, but then switches back to tell the rewards of those who do the right thing.

I am always reminded while reading the Quran that as long as my heart is pure and my intentions are good, no harm can come to me-ultimately. Yes, accidents happen and this can cause me to worry, but in the end I reminded that God SEES all and takes care of all affairs from the macrocosm to the very microcosm.

As it says in one of the verses about this:

4:40

Indeed, Allah does not do injustice, [even] as much as an atom‘s weight; while if there is a good deed, He multiplies it and gives from Himself a great reward.

So really why ever worry? If my faith is strong, then in the end I should know that everything will always be alright.

bobmarley

 

 

 

