What Islam Teaches About Interfaith Relationship/Marriages

I got an email from someone who watches my channel on youtube, and this is my response to help them reach a point of bringing more unity into their life:

Salam,

My name is Shayan and I came to know you from your youtube channel. I found your videos very interesting about interpretation of Quran. I wanted to ask what exactly does Quran say about marrying a christian women. Are muslim men allowed to do that? I myself believe that it is allowed but i also heard some saying only allowed in muslim majority society or it is mukrooh (something not preferable).
I live in Europe and fell in love with christian girl. I wanted to marry her and was trying to convince my parents back in Pakistan. My dad didn’t want this to happen because he had the fear about the religion of kids from our family. Anyways later that girl broke up with me. And I believe religion played the part as well. My heart was really broken that how religion can affect our lives. But I really wanna know what exactly does Quran say about marriage with non-muslims.

My Response:

Authentic love is never a sin and you should show your parents the verse about how Christians are our brothers and sisters under God:

5:82
You will surely find the most intense of the people in animosity toward the believers [to be] the Jews and those who associate others with Allah ; and you will find the nearest of them in affection to the believers those who say, “We are Christians.” That is because among them are priests and monks and because they are not arrogant.

*side note to 5:82-historically in context the “Jews” were the pharisees and elders that were against any non-Jews and called them goyim based on the Talmud Oral Law. Not the Jews of today who still follow Moses’s teachings to be good. 

2:62
Indeed, those who believed and those who were Jews or Christians or Sabeans [before Prophet Muhammad] – those [among them] who believed in Allah and the Last Day and did righteousness – will have their reward with their Lord, and no fear will there be concerning them, nor will they grieve.

As long as a Christian follows Jesus’s teachings and does not take the church as their God, or Jesus as a separate God….I would say your views in life match up and children can be raised in a spiritually clear household.

It would be important for her to accept Muhammad as also a prophet or a servant to God that helped spread the message to the Arab nation, as Jesus spread it to the Hebrews. If she did not and really disagreed with Islam being a true religion or whatever some Christians may think-it could cause issues later on in life.

I am getting married now to a Muslim man, like me, but I dated different religions. It can work….but the overall idea of respect towards all faiths needs to be in place. She needs to ultimately see Islam from the same God, and you need to see Christianity from the same God. Then the relationship can work and God can approve of your happiness, without a bad reflection upon it.

If she agrees that Islam is a true religion and she has her path, and you have yours then let your parents know that this is a mutually respective interfaith relationship and God would most certainly approve. Because remember Islam was to unite people together what was divided by the church and leaders of religion at that time.

Thanks for watching my videos, and let me know what happens…I am rooting for you!

Salam,
IndigoVoice82

 

I post this to my blog in order to help anyone else who may be questioning this about Islam. Remember, a believer should marry a believer, and a Christian is another believer in God.

 

EarthLoveUnity

