Surah Joseph: Chapter 12 (line 90-100) Yusuf

90. They said, “Is that you, Joseph?” He said, “I am Joseph, and this is my brother. God has been gracious to us. He who practices piety and patience—God never fails to reward the righteous.”

91. They said, “By God, God has preferred you over us. We were definitely in the wrong.”

92. He said, “There is no blame upon you today. God will forgive you. He is the Most Merciful of the merciful.”

93. “Take this shirt of mine, and lay it over my father’s face, and he will recover his sight. And bring your whole family to me.”

94. As the caravan set out, their father said, “I sense the presence of Joseph, though you may think I am senile.”

95. They said, “By God, you are still in your old confusion.”

96. Then, when the bearer of good news arrived, he laid it over his face, and he regained his sight. He said, “Did I not say to you that I know from God what you do not know?”

97. They said, “Father, pray for the forgiveness of our sins; we were indeed at fault.”

98. He said, “I will ask my Lord to forgive you. He is the Forgiver, the Most Merciful.”

99. Then, when they entered into the presence of Joseph, he embraced his parents, and said, “Enter Egypt, God willing, safe and secure.”

100. And he elevated his parents on the throne, and they fell prostrate before him. He said, “Father, this is the fulfillment of my vision of long ago. My Lord has made it come true. He has blessed me, when he released me from prison, and brought you out of the wilderness, after the devil had sown conflict between me and my brothers. My Lord is Most Kind towards whomever He wills. He is the All-knowing, the Most Wise.”

 

My Interpretation: 

This is the moment when the brothers finally had a realization that Joseph’s goodness is what brought him the rewards in this life, even though it is what made them jealous with envy seeing how good hearted he was. I am sure many of you also feel this too from those who do not recognize, nor honor the goodness in themselves…they often times target those they perceive as good in order to lash out in self hate and jealousy.

Joseph had compassion and this is what made him a good man. He took his shirt and gave it to the brothers to bring back to their aging father to help regain his sight. I have a strong sense that Jacob was not officially blind, but his depressive state repressed his senses and dulled them so he could see clearly…possibly from so much crying cause of his loss. The scent from Joseph’s shirt could indeed have been the catalyst to liven Jacob’s spirits to know that his son was still alive and well.

Before putting the shirt over his face, he sensed Joseph’s presence which tells me that he smelled Joseph as a father knowing his own son. They say today, that parents are able to tell who are their babies by smelling them blindfolded. The human body has unique pheromones and scents that make us who we are. Joseph’s was well known by his father and in a miracle of intuitive guidance, Joseph knew his scent from his shirt would heal his father’s sight.

In the end, a very happy ending to this historical account happened. The whole family was invited to live with Joseph with his established wealth in the land of Egypt. They all bowed down to Joseph out of respect and this is the completion of Joseph’s dreams or visions he had about being respected by his brothers and family at a later time.

smell

